M5300 Firmware Version 11.0.0.11

Applicable Models:

All M5300 series

Bug Fixes since 11.0.0.11

Changes and Restrictions

  1. The number of maximum VLANs changed in the default SDM ("Dual-IPv4-and-IPv6 data-center-enterprise") mode, from 4K to 1K VLANs. If M5300 with 10.0.0.x firmware is using more than 1K VLANs, then all of the configured VLANs will be lost after the upgrade from 10.0.0.53 to 11.0.0.10. User will need to reconfigure VLANs manually after the upgrade.
  2. The 4K VLAN maximum is retained in SDM "Dual-IPv4-and-IPv6 data-center-enterprise" mode and "IPv4-routing-enterprise" mode.
  3. When using the default SDM mode, the following features are not supported. If user would like to enable them, please use other SDM template.

Before Upgrading

To upgrade your firmware:

  1. Save the current configuration data. Normally, the firmware will preserve the original configuration in the switch. However, because this is a major firmware upgrade, you may want to save a copy of current running configuration, just in case something goes wrong during the upgrade. To do so, go to Maintenance > Upload  and select the Text Configuration option. Click the Apply button to save the configuration file.

  2. Download the new firmware from the NETGEAR product support page and store it in a PC. Remember its location in the PC's file system.

  3. There are two ways to download the new firmware from PC to the switch:

  4. To use the HTTP method, go to Maintenance > Download > HTTP File Download. Click the Browse button and select the location of the new firmware. Click the Apply button to start firmware upgrade. The upgrade will take about 12 minutes. Do not power cycle the switch before the process is complete.

    After you click the Apply button, the file transfer begins, followed by writing the new image to the flash memory. Do not power cycle or reboot the switch before the process is complete. The following message displays after completion.

    After completion , proceed to Step 8 to restart the switch.

  1. To use the TFTP method, start a TFTP server on the PC where the new images are stored. If you do not have a TFTP server, we recommend using free tools such as PumpKIN or TFTPD32.

  1. You can use either the web interface or the CLI interface to perform upgrade using TFTP. To use web interface, go to Maintenance > File Download  and select Transfer Mode as TFTP. Complete the text fields on the page and click the Apply button to start. To use the CLI, either telnet into the switch or use the console port and follow these steps below.

  2. On the switch console, type the following command:

    a. # copy tftp://<tftp server IP address>/<image name> system:image

    b. It will ask for confirm with input data displayed. Hit enter if all parameters look correct.

    c. The download should take a minute or two. After that, the code will be checked for possible corruption, if not, it will report firmware successfully upgraded.

    d. Reboot the switch by typing "reload" command or power cycle the switch.

  3. To use the GUI to restart the switch, go to Maintenance > Reset > Device Reboot.

Make sure that All is selected from the Reboot Unit No. drop down menu. If it is shown with some other value like "1", then only unit 1 in the stack will be rebooted, and this may result in stack failure after the stack is rebooted. Select the Save prior to reboot option if there are changes that may not have been saved. Click the Apply button to start the reboot process.

  1. After the switch is restarted, type the following CLI command to verify the version is correct.
    a. # show hardware
    b. Or, go to GUI System main page System > Management > System Information to confirm the switch firmware is the one downloaded.

  1. Verify the switch running configuration by issuing "show running-config" command. The output should match the configuration file saved on Step 1. If they are not, please call NETGEAR customer support on discrepancy and manually reapply the missing configuration commands back to the switch.

  2. You can now make additional configuration changes for other applications, and be sure to use the save command to save the configuration when you are done.